Victor Shklovsky from Great Reckonings In Little Rooms, Bert O. States

“Art exists that one may recover the sensation of life; it exists to make one feel things, to make the stone stony. The purpose of art is to impart the sensation as things as they are perceived and not as they are known. The technique of art is to make objects “unfamiliar,” to make forms difficult, to increase the difficulty and length of perception because the process of perception is an aesthetic end in itself and must be prolonged. Art is a way of experiencing the artfulness of an object; the object is not important.”

 

This is a great quote, I like it for its simplicity, directness and that it reminds me to play, play play.  

I am now in the middle of the process and coming against many difficulties, mainly the section on the live and the recorded. This section of the performance event is looking at issues regarding liveness and presence of the actor both live and mediated. I will be using a script that I wrote last yr for the simple reason that I know the script off and this will save time.  This requires one performer (Amanda) to be played through a projected video while the other (me) will perform live against the video. However, Amanda can no longer commit to the project. I cannot say that i know where to go from here, should I play both parts or should I get another actor?

Leave a Reply

